2017 British Jazz Awards

Brit Jazz Awards
The nominations have now been announced for the 2017 British Jazz Awards. Now in their 31st year, the awards aim to give the nation's best Jazz musicians, bands, and record labels the recognition they so greatly deserve, but so rarely receive. The categories range from individual instruments such as trumpet and tenor sax, to rising star and re-issue CDs, and many of the best known names in British Jazz feature, along with many artists currently making a name for themselves.

The nominations have been selected by a group of respected figures within the Jazz community, based all across the U.K, a list of whom is included below.

From a wide list of worthy contenders, the list has been narrowed down to four nominees within each category. Voting has now been thrown open to the public, and over 2000 votes received within the first week. Voting closes October 31st, and votes are expected to top last year's total of around 6000.

Anyone wishing to vote can do so at http://tiny.cc/britishjazzawards17/
or by requesting a paper copy of the survey from jazzawards@bigbearmusic.com.
Results will be announced via www.bigbearmusic.com/category/british-jazz-awards/, issue 149 of The Jazz Rag, and on the British Jazz Awards Facebook page.

For more information, please contact:
Big Bear Music
On 0121 454 7020 / admin@bigbearmusic.com 

The 2017 Nominees for the British Jazz Awards are as follows:
Best Trumpet Player: Bruce Adams, Enrico Tomasso, Freddie Gavita, Laura Jurd
Best Trombone Player: Adrian Fry, Dennis Rollins, Ian Bateman, Mark Nightingale
Best Clarinet Player: Alan Barnes, Julian Stringle, Mark Crooks, Peter Long
Best Alto Saxophone Player: Alan Barnes, Derek Nash, Nigel Hitchcock, Soweto Kinch
Best Tenor Saxophone Player: Alex Garnett, Art Themen, Karen Sharp, Robert Fowler
Best Guitarist: Jim Mullen, Martin Taylor, Nigel Price, Remi Harris
Best Pianist: David Newton, Gareth Williams, Nikki Iles, Zoe Rahman
Best Double Bass Player: Alec Dankworth, Andrew Cleyndert, Dave Green, Simon Thorpe
Best Drummer: Clark Tracey, Matt Home, Steve Brown, Winston Clifford
Best Vocalist: Claire Martin, Clare Teal, Georgia Mancio, Tina May
Miscellaneous Instruments: Alan Barnes (Baritone Saxophone), Jim Hart (Vibraphone), Karen Sharp (Baritone Saxophone), Ross Stanley (Organ)
Best Small Group: Brandon Allen Six, Digby Fairweather's Half Dozen, Nigel Price Organ Trio, Tipitina
Best Big Band: Beats and Pieces, Echoes of Ellington, NYJO, Scottish National Jazz Orchestra
Rising Star: Alexandra Ridout Music, Camilla George, Nubya Garcia, Rory Ingham
Best New CD: Explore Records for Golden Moments by Bruce Adams/Craig Milverton; Gearbox Records for Journey To The Mountain Of Forever by Binker & Moses; JVG Productions for It's Always 9:30 In Zog by Dave O'Higgins; Woodville Records for The Lowest Common Denominator by Gilad Atzmon and Alan Barnes
Best Reissue CD: Acrobat Music for Helter Skelter by Joe Harriott; Harkit Records for Change of Setting by Tubby Hayes and Paul Gonsalves; Lake Records for Dusting Off The Archives by Humphrey Lyttleton; Rhythm and Blues Records for The Songbook by Harry South

 With Thanks to our Nomination Panel:
Sue Edwards (Manager/tour organiser), Jill Roger (Director: Glasgow Jazz Festival), Phil Meadows (Musician/educator/band leader), Burnette Laurie (Managing director:www.jazzlondonradio.com), Lance Liddle (Bebop Spoken Here), Dave Cottle (Swansea Internatonal Jazz Festival), Chris Hodgkins (Musician/Boradcaster), David Nathan (National Jazz Archive), Denny Ilett (Bristol Iternational Jazz and Blues Festival), Fred Lindop (Swanage Jazz Festival), John Billett (JBGB Events), Peter Vacher (Jazz Writer), Ron Simpson (Jazz Rag).


This entry was posted in General News and posted on October 1, 2017

<< All News
Subscribe to The Jazz Guide